Winners – Project Award

The IENE Project Award appreciates extraordinary work accomplished by initiatives, activities or plans.

The previous awardees are presented below.

2018 – Anteaters and Highways

The IENE Project Award 2016 was given to the Brazilian project Anteaters and Highways.

2017 – no awardee

There were no IENE Project Award in 2017.

2016 – the Handbook of Road Ecology

The IENE Project Award 2016 was given to the Handbook of Road Ecology that was published in the summer of 2015:

“With a global coverage and beautifully done, the Handbook of Road Ecology connects current scientific knowledge and practical requirements to address the pressing issues of transportation infrastructure development. The book has 114 authors from over 25 countries. Rodney van der Ree and his co-editors Daniel Smith and Clara Grilo brought together the world’s leading researchers, academics, practitioners and transportation agency personnel to present the current status of the ecological sustainability of the linear infrastructure. The success of the book has been impressive and it is a very inspiring book that is attracting more people to the field of road ecology. It simply is by far the best book ever written in this field.”

Handbook of Road Ecology

The Handbook of Road Ecology, winner of the IENE Project Award 2016.

2015 – no awardee

There were no IENE Project Award in 2015, due to lack of nominations.

2014 – the Ecoduct Kempengrens

The IENE Project Award 2014 was given to the Ecoduct Kempengrens:

The cross-border Ecoduct Kempengrens, a cooperation between Flanders and The Netherlands, represents an excellent example of cooperation between countries and institutions in cross-border defragmentation.


The price ceremony of IENE awards 2014. the project award winner, Ecoduct Kempengrens, together with Elke Hahn from the IENE SC. From the left Rob van Ruremonde (province of North-Brabant – The Netherlands), Katja Claus (departement of Environment, Nature and energy – Flemish Government – Belgium), Liesbet Van Laer (Agency for Nature and Forest – Flemish Government – Belgium), Elke Hahn, Marleen Moelants (Agency for Roads and Traffic – Flemish Government – Belgium). 

2013 – no awardee

There were no IENE Project Award in 2013, due to lack of nominations.

2012 – the Alpine Carpathian Corridor Project

The IENE Project Award 2012 was given to the Alpine Carpathian Corridor Project, a collaboration between Austria and Slovakia. Lead partner of the project is the Government of Lower Austria, Nature Protection, the project management is done by Weinviertel Management in Austria and Daphne – Centre of Applied Ecology in Slovakia.

The Alpine Carpathian is a major migration route that connects the eastern reaches of the Alps with the western Carpathians. Today a part of this area, between Vienna, Bratislava and Sopron, is one of the most economically dynamic regions in Europe, which causes severe conflicts between economic development and ecology.

In this cross border project various institutions, NGOs as well as regional and federal authorities work together. Two green bridges will be built, one in each country, to overcome the main traffic routes. The Action Plan has a multi-level, cross-sectoral and trans-national approach and describes all necessary activities to achieve sustainable regional development and the maintenance of the Alpine Carpathian Corridor. A Memorandum of Understanding that clearly defines obligations and responsibilities was signed by representatives of the federal and regional governments as well as representatives of the national highway agencies.

2011 – Landscape fragmentation in Europe

The IENE Project Award 2011 was given to the project Landscape fragmentation in Europe, run by:

  • Prof. Dr. Jochen A.G. Jaeger at the Concordia University in Montreal in Canada,
  • Dr. Luis F.Madriñán at the Concordia University in Montreal in Canada,
  • Tomáš Soukup at GISAT s.r.o. in the Czech republic,
  • Christian Schwick at the Die Geographen schwick+spichtig in Switzerland and
  • Prof. Dr. Felix Kienast at the Swiss Federal Research Institute for Forest, Snow and Landscape (WSL) in Switzerland.

The project was presented at the IENE 2010 International Conference in Hungary and the final report was published in 2011 on the EEA website. The report presents the extent of landscape fragmentation across the entire continent using a significant sound method. It reveals the most significant driving forces behind fragmentation, demonstrating that varying factors are relevant in different parts of Europe. The project combines recent data on landscape and infrastructure with high-end research and science.


The report of the project Landscape fragmentation in Europe that was the winner of IENE Project Award 2011.

2010 – Resolving conflicts between ecological connectivity and transportation infrastructure in Poland

The IENE Project Award 2010 was given to the Mammal Research Institute and the Association for Nature “Wolf” for their cooperation in reducing the impact of transport infrastructure on landscape connectivity in Poland. The award is motivated as follows:

During the last decade Poland was facing an exceptional situation due to rapid growing infrastructure development. Due to their extraordinary dedication the involved persons from the Mammal Research Institute and the Association for Nature “Wolf” coped successfully with the wide range of problems that arise by developing large scale transport infrastructure in valuable natural areas and achieved sustainable solutions to prevent, minimise or mitigate detrimental impacts.

The IENE award recognises the accomplishments that span over initial data collection and the definition of a national network of ecological corridors, the development of recommendations on the state of art in planning and construction of mitigation measures (more than 400 wildlife crossings have been built in respone), and the implementation of ecological corridors into spatial plans of provinces. A more thorough description of the project can be found in the poster presentation of the project.

The persons involved in the project:

  • Włodzimierz Jędrzejewski (Mammal Research Institute, Polish Academy of Sciences)
  • Sabina Nowak (Association for Nature “Wolf”)
  • Robert W. Mysłajek (Association for Nature “Wolf”)
  • Krzysztof Niedziałkowski (Mammal Research Institute, Polish Academy of Sciences)
  • Dorota Ławreszuk (Mammal Research Institute, Polish Academy of Sciences)
  • Marcin Górny (Mammal Research Institute, Polish Academy of Sciences)


Sabina Nowak and Robert Mysłajek, representing the winning project in the ceremony of the IENE Project Award 2010.

This page was last updated: September 18, 2018